•  Transcriptions   •  NSW List of Absconded Prisoners – Dated 4 January 1817
NSW List of Absconded Prisoners – Dated 4 January 1817

Sydney, January 4, 1817.


THE under-mentioned Prisoners having absented themselves from their respective Employments, and some of them at large with false Certificates, all Constables and others are hereby required to use their utmost Exertions in apprehending and lodging them in safe Custody.


From Newcastle with a Whale Boat
Walter White.


From the Lady Nelson
Eneas M’Donald
Michael Ryan


Henry Penman
John Lyall


James Reardon
Isaac Nowland
John Armstrong
R. Simpson
W. Weston
James Cooney
W. Harding, waterman
Joseph Stanley, whitesmith
Patrick Fitzsimmonds, bricklayer
R. Howard, mariner
John Uran, sawyer


James Clarke
W. Strother
Thomas Hughes
John Francis
James Woodman
John Leach
R. Smith
W. Smith
M. Smith
W. Jones
James Bainbridge
David Steel
S. Watts
Joseph Brooks
Patrick Bayland
R. Thomas
J. Clarke
G. Lewes
T. Turner
T. Walker
T. Deeton
Richard Williams
J. Woolley
W. Simms
John Hand
Patrick Whalan
Benjamin Edwards
W. Allen
W. Thorpe
Peter Wright
W. Jenkins
R. Welch
A. Tiffin, alias Greenlaw
J. Murphy
Thomas Ward
Edward Price
G. Leycester
John Smith
Alexander Sunderland
J. Cuff
J. Murray
James Dowd
Thomas Hyland
John Fisher
James Fagan
Joseph Potts
John Tiesley
Martin Herring
Patrick Hamilton, from Newcastle


S. Corbett
E. Wright
Mary Price
Mary Langridge
Sarah Smith
Agnes Finleater
Elizabeth Birch
Bridget Conway
Elizabeth Bayly
Mary Thorpe


Francis Harrison
Felix O’Neil
Francis O’Hara
Thonas M’Grath
Nicholas Russell
Hugh Ward
Thomas Dalton
James M’Mahon
Manuel de Sylva
John Ferrara
Charles Dyche
Patrick Doyle
James Murphy
John Clarey
Henry Kelly
Thomas Morris
Herbert Styles
Joseph Burridge
Edward Scarr
John Pearce


Any Person or Persons harbouring, concealing, or maintaining any of the said Absentees, will be prosecuted for the Offence.


Principal Superintendant.